Forgeside RFC | 1st Team 21 - 33 Abergavenny RFC | 2nd Team
Corey Watkins
Conversion 3
Matthew Meredith
Try 1
Daniel Williams
Try 1
Sior Pearce
Try 1

Match Report
25 April 2023 / Team News

Quins progress to the Final

Abergavenny Quins travelled to Blaenavon Forgeside in the semi-final of the Ivor Jones Cup. The starting XV were Dylan Smith, Oscar Greenland, Rob Lothian, Dan Anstey, Kyle Skinner, Harry Walbyoff, Dan Beavan and James Trumper in the forwards. Rhys Ferguson, Dan Haymond, Ieuan T Evans, Ieuan J Evans, Will Williams, Nathan Mason and Dayle Price in the backs.

Abergavenny began the game with the intention of playing a high tempo game, good ball was spread wide through the three quarters, Will Williams soon found a hole in the Forgeside defense and put Ieuan J Evans into space, recycled ball found Ieuan T Evans who went over for the opening try, converted by Dan Haymond. Quick ball soon after found Ieuan J Evans who was proving a handful for the Forgeside defense, he burst through and ran in Abergavenny’s second try giving them a 12 – 0 lead. A further penalty from Dan Haymond extended the lead before Forgeside had a sustained period of possession, their forwards took the ball up close to the Abergavenny line before driving over for their opening try. Abergavenny were soon on the attack again, a flowing three-quarter move put Will Williams through a gap in the defense, he sprinted away to run in Abergavenny’s third try, converted by Dan Haymond giving a half time score of Forgeside 7 Quins 22.

The second half began with Dan Haymond converting a penalty to extend the Abergavenny lead. Forgeside were straight back on the attack, a three-quarter move sent their winger over in the corner for their second try, closing the score to 12 – 25. Zak Main, Morgan West-Jones and Kevin Palmer were introduced into the game. A Haymond penalty extended the lead before Dayle Price took a high ball and weaved his way through the Forgeside defense to score a popular try to extend the lead to 12 – 33. Further substitutes in James Roberts, Tom Rees, Ryan Symonds were introduced. A Forgeside try near the end of the game reduced the deficit, but the final action was left to Dan Haymond who converted a penalty to leave the final score at Forgeside 19 Abergavenny Quins 36.

Abergavenny Quins now progress to the Ivor Jones Cup final where they will play near neighbours Crickhowell at Pontypool United ground on Wednesday 26th April at 7pm.

Players Fixture player info not published.

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos